06122024.Web Araw ng Kalayaan

On the 12th day of June, year 1898, Emilio Aguinaldo and the Filipino revolutionary forces proclaimed Philippine independence after more than 300 years of Spanish colonial rule.

At the window of Aguinaldo's house in Cavite Viejo (now Kawit, Cavite), Ambrosio Rianzares Bautista read the "Acta de la Proclamacion deIndependencia del Pueblo Filipinas," declaring freedom from Spain and establishing a dictatorial government. Aguinaldo waved the flag in front of the celebrating public.

In this context, the three stars represented Luzon, Panay, and Mindanao, instead of the popular belief of Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. There were 177 signatories of the declaration, which the Malolos Congress ratified and validated at its inaugural convention on 23 September 1898.

The historic proclamation marked the dawn of a new era, igniting the flame of independence and national pride among the hearts of the Filipinos.

- Ryan Albert Ignacius B Sanches (Faculty, GE-IDS)
Ang Gimba Para sa Kasaysayan - Xavier Center for Culture and the Arts