schoolscolleges2020 hed news



Philippine Youth Leadership Program (PYLP) Batch 17 18 participants, facilitators, alumni, and guests take a photo op with Xavier Ateneo University President, Fr. Mars Tan SJ, as they convened during the two-day summit.

With the goals of leading young Mindanao leaders in sustaining their growth and development and nurturing their local initiatives with their volunteerism and support in projects aimed at peacebuilding, peacekeeping, and caring for our common home, the Philippine Youth Leadership Program (PYLP) continues to promote leadership to Mindanao’s youth. 

In its second year of implementation and with the theme, “A view from the river delta”, Dungan Ngadto (Forward Together) gathered once again the Philippine Youth Leadership Program (PYLP) Batch 17 18 participants in a two-day virtual follow-on interactive summit last September 25-26, 2021 via Zoom. PYLP is initiated by the Arrupe Educational Center (AEC) together with the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Northern Illinois University (NIU), and U.S. Embassy Manila.

Roel R. Ravanera, Xavier Ateneo’s Vice President for Social Development, formally welcomed all the participants together with Dr. Eric Jones, former Acting Director of Northern Illinois University’s Center for Southeast Asian Studies (CSEAS) and its current director, Dr. Judy Ledgerwood, each giving their welcome messages.  

Xavier Ateneo university president Fr. Mars Tan, SJ shared his personal and inspiring leadership journey in his talk “Engaging the Mindanao Youth for Peacebuilding and Caring for our Common Home” as the keynote speaker for the summit.

Ashraf Sarsour from the Office of Citizen Exchanges - Youth Programs Division, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs of the U.S. State Department, and PYLP Program Director Rhodalyne Gallo-Crail also gave congratulatory messages to the participants for not only finishing their online training but also successfully carrying out their micro-grants in their respective localities. 


Xavier Ateneo university president Fr. Mars Tan SJ shared his keynote speech to the PYLP batch 17-18 participants and guests during day 1 of Dungan Ngadto 2 Virtual Summit.

Heartwarming testimonies hailing from representatives on behalf of their micro-grant participants, project partners, PYLP alumni coaches, and parents were also featured in a video montage. This was followed by awarding certificates of achievement for the PYLP participants and recognition certificates to their project partners.

School of Education dean, Dr. Edralin Manla, thanked all those who supported the young leaders from Mindanao and encouraged the batch to continue to be resilient despite challenges in her closing remarks.


Dr. Eric Jones (top left), former acting director of Northern Illinois University’s Center for Southeast Asian Studies (CSEAS) and its current director, Dr. Judy Ledgerwood (top right) with Ashraf Sarsour (bottom left) from the Office of Citizen Exchanges - Youth Programs Division, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs of the U.S. State Department and PYLP Program Director Rhodalyne Gallo-Crail (bottom right) all gave their messages to congratulate the new batch of PYLP graduates.

The summit’s afternoon session was opened by Eren Joy Bautista of the U.S. Embassy Manila who introduced the batch to the USG alumni community. PYLP AEF Coordinator Lynrose Jane Genon provided pertinent tips to sustain the gains of their PYLP experience while ACCESS PYLP representative Intesar Aba-Conding introduced the projects and programs offered by their alumni association. To augment their program experience, Malcolm Flores of U.S. Embassy Manila showcased various grants and opportunities they can avail themselves of as USG alumni. The first day of the summit was capped by an interactive online socials night with games and activities prepared by the AEC staff and volunteers. 

PYLP Batch 4 alumna Mona Lisa Pangan led an insightful recollection session for the group during the summit’s second day to provide clarity for their mission and perspective and to give the participants the avenue to hear out shared experiences. 

Highlighting the day’s activities was the presentation of PYLP 17 18 micro-grant projects in breakout session rooms and plenary with student audiences from the University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines (USTP) and Xavier Ateneo School of Education. PYLP alumni and leaders served as the panel for the five breakout groups. 

PYLP Participant

Project Name


Abdul Majid  Gondarangin

Kalilintad Ko Umanisa

Marawi City, Lanao del Sur

Alinor Ampuan

NGGONA'AN: Finding the Treasure within Trashes

Balindong, Lanao del Sur

Aslam Usop

Project KASAPI

Cotabato City, Maguindanao

Audrey Kyle Furmentera

Sugod Dlibro

Tigbao, Zamboanga Del Sur

Azisah Usman

Youth Empowerment through Cultural Revival and Handicraft Development (YouthPowerCureHD)

Balindong, Lanao Del Sur

Bill Clement Fumar

Project Tugkaran

Sto. Tomas, Davao del Norte

Christian Bautista


Kabacan, North Cotabato

Fatima Melarnie Jamron

Project EcoSug

Patikul, Sulu

Fidel Pasco Jr.

Project YES

Mintal, Davao City

Gianne Diaz Rodriguez

Project Dunong 2

Isabela City, Basilan

Hajar Kabalu


Cotabato City & Maguindanao

Hasana Anggi


Lamitan City, Basilan

Hebah Pandapatan

Project LEARN

Ditsaan-Ramain, Lanao del Sur

Karl Campos

Hulmahon Project (A Personality Development Workshop)

Davao City

Ken Jan Bunsua

Best Friends of the Earth Movement

Pagadian City, Zamboanga del Sur

Ma. Laveña La Mendoza

KUTITAP: Kahayag nga Ubra ug Talidhay Ipahigayon nga Tabang Alang sa mga Pinuy-anan

Pagadian City, Zamboanga del Sur

Marchone Dominguez


Kapalong, Davao del Norte

Marhum Singh Ladjahali

Project: Coast-I Care

Bongao, Tawi-Tawi

Mariela Anya Soriño

Tara MakiAlam

General Santos City

Marija Kara Trinidad

Save Gaia

Iligan City, Lanao del Norte

Mary Car Elumba

Project Kaangapay

Dapitan City, Zamboanga del Norte

Mohamad Nader Dimapundug

4R's Project(Revolutionary Reduce Reuse Recycle Project): Eco-warrior Series

Balindong, Lanao Del Sur

Nurdelina Mohammad Sali

Project EcoSug

Patikul, Sulu

Shalimar Basman

Siyap Ko Ginawa

Tugaya, Lanao Del Sur

Sophia Sebastian

Project SINAG

Mati City, Davao Oriental

Spencer John Bitos


Bayugan City, Agusan del Sur

Sydney Roxanne Singco

Fish for Peace

Pikit, North Cotabato

Thasmedah Tabayag


Labangan, Zamboanga Del Sur

Vhorge Franco Ismali


Lamitan City, Basilan

Wizza Amboludto

Project GAPANG: GAbay tungong PANGarap

Cotabato City, Maguindanao

The summit concluded with the unveiling of a new and dynamic PYLP logo and the launching of the search for the next batch of PYLP participants which will start by the end of this month.

The Philippine Youth Leadership Program (PYLP) in-country team is headed by Arrupe Educational Center (AEC) director Maria Victoria B. Trinidad with Dr. Maria Angeles D. Hinosolango as the adult program officer, Anito R. Librando, Jr. as the youth program officer and Atty. Ernesto B. Neri as the special programs and legal officer.