schoolscolleges2020 hed news

IMG a721c6db1985de9c52cf8018963664bf V

Bravo! Well done, XU Law Debate Team!

The Xavier Ateneo Law Debate Team emerged as the national champion of the first Justice Hilarion L. Aquino National Memorial Debate, conducted from Feb. 22 to Mar. 02, 2023. The final round was held on Mar. 02, 2023 at the Pamanang Bedista, The San Beda Heritage Center in San Beda University, Manila. 

This debate is organized by the Commission on Elections, in partnership with Legal Education Board, as part of the various activities leading up to the National Election Summit. 

The Xavier Ateneo Law Debate Team consists of Mr. Maiko Jay Llido as Team Captain, Mr. Klahrinz W. B. Catubig, Mr. Joseph Jireh Eguia, Ms. Harriet Golda Reserva, and Atty. Ernesto Neri as Coach. Team Captain Mr. Maiko Jay Llido also received the Best Speaker Award. The team was able to persuade a panel of adjudicators on why it is legal, practical, and beneficial to adopt block-chain and similar technology for fully automated elections. The panel is chaired by Ret Supreme Court Chief Justice Reynato S. Puno and composed of LEB Chairperson Anna Marie Melanie B. Trinidad, Court of Appeals Associate Justice Zenaida T. Galapate-Laguilles, Former LEB Chairperson Emerson B. Aquende, and PALS President Dean Gemy Lito L. Festin.