schoolscolleges2020 hed news

Xavier University is part recipient of the IPUR Seed Grant 2023, together with the University College London (QS No 9), the University of Glasgow (QS No 76), and the National University of Singapore (QS No 8, No 1 in Asia).

Based at the National University of Singapore (NUS), the Lloyd’s Register Foundation Institute for the Public Understanding of Risk (IPUR) seeks to narrow the risk perception gap between the public and experts. The UNESCO Chair in Disaster Risk Reduction and Resilience Engineering (DRR-RE) based at University College London (UCL) led by Prof Dina D’Ayala and Dr Ahsana Parammal Vatteri, has teamed up with Dr Ji-Eun Byun at University of Glasgow (UofG), Prof Darren Chian at NUS, and Prof Dexter Lo at Xavier University (XU), to secure the IPUR Seed Grant 2023 to initiate the novel project: "Affordable and accessible decision-support tool against hazard risks for local communities in developing countries".

Xavier Ateneo is a partner of the UNESCO Chair in DRR-RE. Prof Lo has previously collaborated with Prof D’Ayala in the Philippines Resilience of Schools to Multi-Hazard (PRSIMH) Project, jointly funded by the British Council and the Commission on Higher Education of the Philippine Government.

Original article:


04112024.Web SOCDEV 1